New LL player needing help with Play by Post/Solos

For discussion of all things Labyrinth Lord.

New LL player needing help with Play by Post/Solos

Postby Saladin Ahmed » Sun Apr 17, 2011 4:30 pm

Hi Folks

So via the Grognardia blog I've just discovered the wonder that is Labyrinth Lord. But I have no group to play with. A friend and I are working on setting up a chat-based game a little ways down the line, but I'm just wondering A) If there are any 'solo adventures' out there akin to the old invisible ink modules TSR used to make, and B) How the play-by-post thing works. Sorry if these have been covered elsewhere in the forums - couldn't find anything but I'm a noob and may have missed a previous discussion...

Thanks much!
Saladin Ahmed
Read my Nebula and Campbell-nominated short fiction here: http://www.saladinahmed.com/wordpress/bibliography/
And watch for my novel THRONE OF THE CRESCENT MOON forthcoming FEB 2012 from DAW Books!
Saladin Ahmed

Re: New LL player needing help with Play by Post/Solos

Postby gentleman john » Sun Apr 17, 2011 7:30 pm

i don't know if there are any LL-specific solo adventures out there. Maybe somebody else knows.

As to your second question ... the answer is "It depends."

Not sure what you mean by play-by-post, but I've come across three different methods of playing RPGs on the internet without using chat or Skype: play-by-forum (PBF), play-by-email (PBeM) and interactive fiction (IF).

In PBF play, the play usually takes place in the same way that a traditional RPG does, with the referee describing events going on and the players responding. PBF in this way takes a long time to go through adventures. What would normally be a night of play around the table can take weeks, depending on how often the participants update.