Drow, Dark Elf

For discussion of all things Labyrinth Lord.

Drow, Dark Elf

Postby Blood axe » Tue Mar 05, 2013 2:17 pm

Anyone intetested in working on Drow player class for LL & AEC?? I have some ideas.
To defend: This is the Pact.
But when life loses its value,
and is taken for naught -
then the Pact is to Avenge.
Blood axe

Re: Drow, Dark Elf

Postby bighara » Tue Mar 05, 2013 3:54 pm

I prefer the Shadow Elves of GAZ13 myself. :)

A drow-ish PC, huh?

Well, I'm no Underdark expert, but –IMO– the racial elf class (F/MU) seems pretty close. Maybe give them better infravision (ultravision?) and a -1 in daylight? What else? Didn't Drizzy have something like innate Faerie Fire 1/day? What would you offset that with? A reaction penalty with other races? Maybe something else, too?
bighara

Postby Blood axe » Tue Mar 05, 2013 4:02 pm

I dont remember the stats for Shadow Elves. Close to Drow?

Yes, pretty close to a regular Elf. Some extra abilities, darkness, levitate, faerie fire, maybe others. Penalties in light, outcast in upper world. Possibly XP penalty.
Blood axe

Postby gentleman john » Tue Mar 05, 2013 5:56 pm

Sounds like the Shadow Elves, except for the extra abilities.
gentleman john

Postby Black Wyvern » Tue Mar 05, 2013 6:41 pm

I wouldn't go to far changing the elf class. Rather look at a different spell list for drow. Rather than give them bonus spells just put faerie fire on their list as a first level spell, maybe even levitate. You can really make huge differences in classes with spell lists. I have been using a custom elf spell list that is more elf-like for several months now and am really happy with the flavor it has given the class.