New guy with some questions!

For discussion of all things Labyrinth Lord.

New guy with some questions!

Postby johnnybleu » Tue Jan 25, 2011 2:04 pm

Greetings one and all!

First, I should clear up that while I'm new to LL, I've played quite a bit of Classic D&D so I still have a fair understanding of the system. That being said, after reading both the core book and the AEC, I'm left with a quite a few questions-- the more prominent of which are as follow...

Which spells allow for a save? Reading through some of the spell description, I've realised that several entries specifically state whether or not a save is allowed. However, there's also a significant number or spells where it simply doesn't say. Of course, for some spells no save would be necessary, but if you want to make that ogre dance, doesn't he get a chance to save what little dignity he has left? As LL, I would simply say that every spell which has an involuntary effect on another creature is allowed a save, unless specifically stated in it's description. How would others rule it?

Also, is there clear list of weapon sizes? Normally I wouldn't care, but when it comes to what class/race can use what weapon based on their size, then it matters. For example, Magic-Users can only use small weapons like a dagger. Are there any other small weapons, or can they really only use a dagger (as in basic D&D)? This question also applies to two-weapon fighting, since you can only have a small weapon in your off-hand. Equally confusing is that Dwarves cannot used two-handed weapons, while Gnomes and Halflings cannot use large and two-handed weapons. Is there a distinction between the two? Are all large weapons two-handed or not? Should I just use my judgment and common sense when it comes to deciding what is considered a small or large weapon?