Writing a game advert

For any discussion that does not fit any other category, or general announcements.

Writing a game advert

Postby elf23 » Sun May 08, 2011 11:00 am

Hey everyone,

As I think I mentioned previously, my gaming group has gotten a bit on the small side recently, with people having less time available, and players coming and going. I've tried putting "looking for players" posts in various local / national RPG forums, without a huge amount of success, so I thought I'd also try putting out some posters in local gaming shops. I asked a couple and they both said it's cool, so now I just have to come up with a poster! I've never done this before, and never really even seen posters advertising other people's games, so I'd appreciate any tips or advice anyone might have. Here's what I was thinking of, roughly:

• Big title: Dungeons & Dragons (working on the theory that that name is more of an attention grabber than Labyrinth Lord, and that perhaps people are less likely to want to join a game that they've never heard of. Plus the name D&D is immediately evocative of a lot of the right stuff, where LL isn't necessarily. That's my theory at least!)
  • "Bi-weekly game looking for players"
  • An attractive and somewhat old-school looking picture. Probably something by Pete Mullen or Erol Otus, as I love their kind of out-there style. (I'm thinking of the image on the inside cover of the Dungeon Alphabet, for those who have it.) I want to choose an image that is representative or evocative of the game -- exploring dungeons and encountering weird creatures! :D
  • A bit of text giving some brief (and hopefully inspiring ;)) info about some of the interesting / unique features of the campaign.
  • Practical details: when / where / who.
  • Contact info, etc.