Newbie question. Armor class and leveling up.

For discussion of all things Labyrinth Lord.

Newbie question. Armor class and leveling up.

Postby Aegis » Fri Jul 03, 2015 5:41 pm

Hi, I'm new to table top RPGs and haven't played one before so sorry if this is a basic question. The closest thing I can think of to this game that I've played is a Gameboy Advance Game called Golden Sun. That's where I'm at understanding-wise.

I'm going through the Labyrinth Lord Core Rules PDF trying to roll up a character, but I'm stuck at the armor class part.

I don't understand multiple things about armor class and leveling up:

ARMOR

1. At the bottom of the character sheet, (page 134 of the PDF) there are 10 boxes labeled 0 to 9, the string of boxes is labeled armor class and it says on the side, "Roll 1d20 to hit". I can't find an explanation of what this means at all. I have no clue what to do with those boxes.

2. Is armor class only determined by the armor you wear? Do you roll dice to determine additional armor level as well?

HIT POINTS

3. Do you gain only HP when you level up, or do you roll to gain the other attributes as well?

4. I'm looking at the Cleric level progression on page 9. It says "Hit Dice (1d6)" on one column and then lists 1 for level 1, 2 for level 2 and so on. Does this mean that when I reach, say level 5, I will roll a d6 5 times and add up the sum to determine how many additional hitpoints I gain that level? And on top of that constitution modifies the roll of each of those 5 die?

GENERAL ATTRIBUTES

5. It seems dexterity decreases your armor level? Does this mean that I become more fragile the more dexterity I have? If you DO roll to gain more attributes every level, wouldn't this make your character progressively more fragile?

6. Some of the classes say they don't have a level limit, but the level progression tables only go up to 20. Is level 20 the max level or does it go infinitely somehow?