New to Old School Gaming

For discussion of all things Labyrinth Lord.

New to Old School Gaming

Postby Rymbeld » Sun Dec 19, 2010 12:23 am

Hi guys,
I'm new to all this. I downloaded the no-art LL .pdf and I've read the thing (and much of the old DnD rulebooks); I've put up some flyers and may be starting up a game soon. Unfortunately I've only found two to three players.

So, any tips? I'm planning on having people roll up characters and then throw them into the Morlock Shaman's dungeon, and seeing how things go.
Rymbeld

Re: New to Old School Gaming

Postby samwise7 » Sun Dec 19, 2010 12:45 am

Actually, two or three people can work out well if you are just getting back into things. Have them each make a retainer as well as their main character (or just roll them up yourself and hand them out). The retainers helped out a lot in my game when I only had 2 players. Plus, I told my players that if their main character died, they could play their retainer. The retainers get half a share of XP in my game, so it is better than starting out at 1st level again. After two sessions I've killed off one of the retainers so far, the main characters have been pretty lucky so far.

I jotted the main rules I knew I would forget on 3x5 cards, so I could easily flip to what I needed. That, or highlight the crap out of your LL PDF once you print it. There really aren't many rules, so even after a couple of read throughs you should be alright.

Have fun.
"Everything important in RPGs happens the moment you stop holding onto the rulebook with both hands." -Jeff Rients
http://www.youtube.com/samwise7rpg
samwise7

Postby Blood axe » Sun Dec 19, 2010 1:00 am

2 or 3 players is fine. Three is better, but you can even have a game with only one other players. There was an adventure in an old Dungeon mag azine called "The Wooden Mouse" where a Thief character had to steal a magic item as initiation to join a Guild. One player, One GM- thats it.
To defend: This is the Pact.