Wisdom

For discussion of all things Labyrinth Lord.

Wisdom

Postby BlackSimon » Sat May 02, 2015 12:50 pm

Hello,
Although I have to admit that I am not very experienced in LL or OD&D it seems to me as if certain stats are way more useful than others. STR, DEX and CON are all very important and useful. CHA is not that bad either, since it's crucial for having retainers. Intellegence basically just gives you additional languages. But especially Wisdom seems to be even less important in my eyes. Of course clerics will have to have a high Wisdom so that they do not suffer an experience point malus. Other than that, it's only purpose seems to be to increase certain saving throws. But since these did not occur very often in our games, it doesn't seem to make a big difference. What is your impression? In order to solve the problem, I thought about allowing players to add their WIS-modifier to listen and search checks. Thematically this would make sense, since WIS is supposed to be the "sixth sense" and the perception of a character. Any thoughts on this?
Last edited by BlackSimon on Sat May 02, 2015 1:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
BlackSimon

Re: Wisdom

Postby greyarea » Sat May 02, 2015 1:05 pm

That seems like a fine house rule.
greyarea

Postby SyntheticGod8 » Thu May 07, 2015 5:06 am

Adding to this;
Unless you intend for the players to discover a lot of hidden stuff, which isn't a bad thing, I'd only make this rule apply to Humans. Of course, negative WIS scores would apply too. That is, demi-humans have keen sight, but humans may have better insight.
SyntheticGod8

Postby kipper » Thu May 07, 2015 3:50 pm

I never really liked WIS either, but I stick with it because it's there. I love the T&T take on it: "Wisdom? What the hell is that? I'll take luck any day." I've never tried shoehorning a LUCK attribute into D&D though to replace it, but I'd like to.
kipper

Postby tumblingdice » Thu May 07, 2015 5:13 pm