3E Saving Throws in Labyrinth Lord?

For discussion of all things Labyrinth Lord.

3E Saving Throws in Labyrinth Lord?

Postby pallidmask » Fri Nov 15, 2013 5:44 pm

I've been running a campaign using Labyrinth Lord for about nine months now. Since I cut my teeth on B/X a quarter of a century ago, I love returning to the simplicity, elegance and openness of the system. However, it's in my nature to hack and customize the rules. We're about to end what I've been referring to as Season One, and for the next "Season" I'm thinking about adding in a few of the things I really liked from my time spent playing 3.5, such as Ascending AC, Base Attack Bonus and Reflex/Will/Fortitude saves.

What's your experience with importing the three save system into LL or B/X? At a cursory glance I was thinking about slotting the LL saves under the umbrella of the 3E saves and averaging the numbers to get the base modifiers; from there I can determine the DC of each save on the fly. I'm not a huge numbers guy, though, so before I start doing all this I figured it'd be worth checking in with everyone here for thoughts. So far every house rule I've contemplated has turned up fully fleshed-out either on here or other OSR message boards. It's one of the things I love about the OSR; lots of great minds have been messing with this stuff for so long that there's an endless wealth of information and ideas out there ready to be dropped right into your games.
pallidmask

Re: 3E Saving Throws in Labyrinth Lord?

Postby Black Wyvern » Sat Nov 16, 2013 2:26 am